AHS Clubs

Please click below to find the AHS clubs and description as well as the sponsor name and sponsor contact information:

If you have any questions, please contact the school at 812-6501.

Go Tigers!

 

CLUBS

SPONSOR

CONTACT INFO

DESCRIPTION

Freshman Class

Dana Cantrell

Room 117

Dana.cantrell@aps4kids.org

Students elected by their classes for the purpose of developing and executing programs and events for their class. Most programs fall into the categories of class spirit, community service, or fundraising for junior and senior year activities.

Sophomore Class

Vanessa Chacon

Located inside the Bookstore

Vanessa.chacon@aps4kids.org

Junior Class

Brianna DeMeyere

Room 410

Brianna DeMeyere@aps4kids.org

Senior Class

Angela Coble

Room 415

Angela.Coble@aps4kids.org

AFJROTC - Air Force Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps

Col. Clocksin Chief Tedford

 

Room 125

donald.clocksin@aps4kids.org patrick.tedford@aps4kids.org

Provides leadership training & an aerospace science program for high school students. Explores the historic & scientific aspects of aerospace technology. Teaches high school students self-reliance, self-discipline, and other characteristics of good leaders. Objectives: educate & train high school cadets in citizenship and life skills; promote community service; instill a sense of responsibility, develop character, and self-discipline through education & instruction in air and space fundamentals. The Air Force’s core values; Integrity First, Service Before Self, and Excellence In All We Do.

Athletic Training

David Maldonado

 

Athletic training room

david.maldonado@aps4kids.org

Athletic Trainers’ help athletes learn how to prevent, as well as manage, sport-related injuries. They study the art and science of athletic training and working together toward a common goal. Realizing how mutual respect, self-discipline, and responsibility are important to the success of the team are their first priority.

Band

Shamlan Al-Masoud

Shamlan.Al-Masoud@aps4kids.org

 

Chess Club

Kenneth Epps

Room311

Kenneth.Epps@aps4kids.org

An incredible opportunity for students to develop their ability to think logically, strategically and tactically. Students also learn good sportsmanship, leadership and mentoring skills.

Choir

Kasi Bryant

kasi.bryant@aps4kids.org

Sing and perform in district and state festivals as well as many local venues in Alamogordo in any of the following groups: Elite Choir-Awesome Women in Tune for 10-12th grade (requires audition); Chamber Choir-Marvelous, mighty, & magical mixed voices of guys and girls for 9th-12th grade; Tiger Treble Singers- Young Women to Wow you! For 9th-12th grade

Business Professional of America

Kassandra Crabtree

Room T110

Kassandra.Crabtree@aps4kids.org

Mentorship program - an international association of high school and college students and teachers of marketing, management and entrepreneurship in business, finance, hospitality, and marketing

FCA - Fellowship Christian Athletes

Scott & Susan Rhodes

scott.rhodes@aps4kids.org sudee.rhodes@aps4kids.org

Student-led, student-run Christian group with a focus on athletics. You don't have to be an athlete to join.

FCCLA - Family, Career and Community Leaders of America

Christina Estrada

 

Room 439

Christina.Estrada@aps4kids.org

Provides personal growth, leadership development, and career preparation opportunities for students in Family and Consumer Sciences education

FFA - Future Farmers of America

Sydney Spaulding

Room V106

Sydney.Spaulding@aps4kids.org

Youth organization made to prepare students for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.

GSA - Gay Straight Alliance

Jane Halone

 

Library

Jane.Halone@aps4kids.org

Student-run club which provides a safe place for students to meet, support each other, talk about issues related to sexual orientation and gender identity and expression.

HOSA - Health Occupations Students of America

Holly Bird

Room T112

holly.bird@aps4kids.org

Student organization to promote career opportunities in the health care industry and to enhance the delivery of quality health care to all people.

Interact Club

Darrel Renfro

Room 314

Darrel.renfro@aps4kids.org

Interact is a service club for young people ages 12-18 who want to join together to tackle issues in their community that they care most about. In partnership with a local Rotary Club, Interactors carry out hands-on service projects, make international connections, develop leadership skills and have fun.

International Club

TBA

 

The International Club supports students who have lived, grown up in, or visited other countries and would like to get together and share these experiences. We support communication between cultures and exploration of the experiences of students, staff, and community. Our goal is to increase school and community awareness of our unique diversity and improve experiences of students who are new to Alamogordo, especially those that have arrived from other countries and cultures.

Key Club

Jeanette Lawhorn

Room 212 Jeanette.lawhorn@aps4kids.org

Self-governing, student-led organization functioning to 1) develop initiative, leadership, team-work, community and school service, citizenship, better communities, 2) increase in righteousness, justice, patriotism, good will, 3) promote higher standards of scholarship, sportsmanship, social contacts, 4) give primacy to the human and spiritual rather than the material.

MESA - Mathematics, Engineering, and Science Achievement

Manuela Klaassen

Room T113

manuela.klaassen@aps4kids.org

A pre-college program that prepares students for college and careers in mathematics, engineering, science or technically related fields. Students participate in a variety of enriched math, science and engineering activities including, but not limited to, field trips, speakers, workshops, regional and state-wide academic competitions, community service and leadership development projects.

Mock Trial

TBA

 

Students participate in rehearsed trials to learn about the legal system in a competitive manner.

NHS - National Honor Society

Johnna Clinton

Room 211 Johnna.Clinton@aps4kids.org

The National Honor Society invites student whose cumulative GPA is 3.5 (no rounding) or above and in the 10th grade. Students must not have more than one "NO" on the teacher recommendation form or be convicted of any crimes, whether a misdemeanor or worse, a felony.

Orchestra

Rod Pior

Room 309 Rod.Pior@aps4kids.org

 

SADD - Students Against Destructive Decisions

TBA

 

SADD's mission: To provide students with the best prevention tools possible to deal with the issues of underage drinking, other drug use, risky and impaired driving, and other destructive decisions.

Science Club

Dana Cantrell

Room 117 Dana.Cantrell@aps4kids.org

The primary purpose of the AHS Science Club is to encourage scholastic effort, foster scientific literacy and interest in science. *Membership in the AHS Science Club is open to students presently enrolled in a science course or were enrolled in a science course the previous semester. Activities in which the student must participate may include club meetings, Science Olympiad, Envirothon, other science competitions, and special projects.

Ski Club

Danielle Nowotenski

Room 402 Danielle.Nowotenski@aps4kids.org

 

Stater's Club - New Mexico Girls & Boys State

Anastacia Cadena

Room 122 Anastacia.Cadena@aps4kids.org

Outstanding students are selected their junior year to attend New Mexico Girls and Boys State sponsored by the American Legion to learn and engage in how Government works.

Student 2 Student

Teresa Ferenczhalmy

Teresa.ferenczhalmy@aps4kids.org

Student to Student (S2S) is a world-wide organization made up primarily of military-connected students. AHS students are members who want to connect with other students of similar backgrounds (military parents) and support each other through their transitions to a new school and possibly as a parent deploys. Any student is welcomed to join us!

Student Council

Irma Montoya

Irma.Montoya@aps4kids.org

Student councils serve to engage students in learning about democracy and leadership. The student council also helps share students’ ideas, interests, and concerns with teachers and school principals. They often also help raise funds for school-wide activities, including Homecoming, social events, community projects, helping people in need and school reform. Most schools do food drives, fundraisers, contests and parties. Student Council oversees all the elections paperwork. Students interested in running for a class office, they will turn the paperwork over each class sponsor and then each class sponsor will submit to the Student Council sponsor she will ensure that each student is qualify to run for office. If an election needs to be held for each class, the sponsor and Student Council will coordinate on counting any ballots that need to be send out to each class. All so for any nomination and elections of Homecoming dance as well as Prom, Student Council sponsor will count ballots with the sponsor. Student Council President will need to attend a least one meeting with each class to see if they need help in selling items, help with fundraising or need suggestions.

Unite

TBA

 

 

Yearbook/Journalism

Scotty Williams

scotty.williams@aps4kids.org

The purpose of Yearbook/Journalism is to create the annual Eye of the Tiger Yearbook for the school year. Students learn a variety of skills, such as interviewing, photography, graphic design, layout and writing in journalism style. The 2013 Eye of the Tiger was a Columbia Scholastic Press Association Gold Medalist.

ATHLETICS

COACH

Athletic Director - Jerrett Perry ATHLETICS OFFICE 575-812-5564/5567

Varsity Cheerleading

Alice Kelson-Williams

ahstigercheer@gmail.com

 

JV Cheerleading

 

 

 

Cross Country

Justin Gigler

justin.gigler@aps4kids.org

 

Tennis

Charles Powell

charles.powell@aps4kids.org

 

Golf (Boys)

Scott Rhodes

Scott.rhodes@aps4kids.org

 

Golf (Girls)

Tommy Standefer

Tommy.standefer@aps4kids.org

 

Football

AJ Cisco

AJ.Cisco@aps4kids.org

 

Volleyball

Scott Rhodes

scott.rhodes@aps4kids.org

 

Basketball (Boys)

James Voight

James.Voight@aps4kids.org

 

Basketball (Girls)

Manny Vigil

manny.vigil@aps4kids.org

 

Swimming

Colleen Moon

Colleen.moon@aps4kids.org

 

Diving

Colleen Moon

Colleen.moon@aps4kids.org

 

Soccer (Boys)

Lee Wilder

 

Soccer (Girls)

Rudy Barbosa

rudy.barbosa@aps4kids.org

 

Softball

Charlene Reyes

Charlene.reyes@aps4kids.org

 

Baseball

Michael Crabtree

michael.crabtree@aps4kids.org

 

Track & Field (boys)

Jason Atkinson

jason.atkinson@aps4kids.org

 

Track & Field (girls)

Jason Atkinson

jason.atkinson@aps4kids.org

 

Wrestling

Michael Spencer

Michaelspencer100@hotmail.com